Skip to product information
1 of 1

Taylor Branch

Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years 1963-65

Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years 1963-65

Regular price $22.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $22.00 USD
Sale Sold out
From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch, the second part of his epic trilogy on Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement.

In the second volume of his three-part history, a monumental trilogy that began with Parting the Waters, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award, Taylor Branch portrays the Civil Rights Movement at its zenith, recounting the climactic struggles as they commanded the national stage.

Beginning with the Nation of Islam and conflict over racial separatism, Pillar of Fire takes the reader to Mississippi and Alabama: Birmingham, the murder of Medgar Evers, the March on Washington, the Civil Rights Act, and voter registration drives. In 1964, King is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Branch's magnificent trilogy makes clear why the Civil Rights Movement, and indeed King's leadership, are among the nation's enduring achievements. In bringing these decades alive, preserving the integrity of those who marched and died, Branch gives us a crucial part of our history and heritage.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Branch, Taylor
Published: 01/20/1999
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9780684848099
Pages: 768
Weight: 2.50lbs
Size: 9.20h x 6.20w x 1.60d
View full details